Department of Psychology

About Department: Faculty & Staff

Maureen McCarthy

Professor of Psychology

Contact Information

Office: Social Sciences (SO 402), Room 4024
Phone: 470-578-6296
Fax: 470-578-9146


Maureen McCarthy is the third person to hold the post of Faculty Executive Assistant to the President at Kennesaw State University. Dr. McCarthy earned her MS degree in Counseling and PhD in Research and Evaluation from Oklahoma State University. As Professor of Psychology, Dr. McCarthy has taught Introductory Psychology, Research Methods, Experimental Psychology, Ethics and Professional Issues in Applied Psychology, Principles of Psychological Testing, and the Senior Seminar. Dr. McCarthy was recently named the College of Humanities and Social Sciences Distinguished Professor (2012).

Dr. McCarthy conducts research in the areas of pedagogy, assessment of student learning, and program evaluation. She regularly conducts program reviews as a member of the APA Education Directorate’s Department Consulting Service. She has authored and co-authored numerous publications including the American Psychologist article “Quality Benchmarks in Undergraduate Psychology Programs. An extension of this work—Using Quality Benchmarks for Assessing and Developing Undergraduate Programs—was recently released by Jossey-Bass publishers. This volume offers a comprehensive approach to program assessment and evaluation for to help programs and departments in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences use assessment data to improve undergraduate education.

Maureen McCarthy has served in a variety of administrative positions at several universities and recently served as Associate Executive Director for the American Psychological Association’s office of Pre-College and Undergraduate Programs. While serving as the Associate Executive Director she successfully obtained a National Science Foundation grant for the Online Psychology Laboratory (DUE –0435058). This project continues to provide important resources for faculty and students worldwide.

She previously served as President of Division 2, the Society for the Teaching of Psychology, and is a member of the Division 35 - the Society for the Psychology of Women, and Division 5 – Evaluation, Measurement, and Statistics. Dr. McCarthy is a Fellow of the American Psychological Association and the Association for Psychological Science. Dr. McCarthy currently serves as a member of the Advanced Placement Psychology Test Development Committee and the Social Studies Academic Advisory Committee for the College Board.

Faculty and Staff

Alamilla, Saul
Buddie, Amy
Buechling, Lori
Burr, Janet
Clark, Seth
Cochrane, Jacquelyn
Davis, Kimberly
Devine, Patrick
Donovan, Roxanne
End-Berg, Lisa
Garai, Emily
Garefino, Allison
Gildea, Kathleen
Glover, Ebony
Harrison, Carrin
Harrison, Donal
Helms, Jeffrey
Hill, Jonathan
Johnson, Rebecca
Jones, Tiffany
Jung, Kyung
Kieran, Rachel
Kirsner, Beth
Love, Keisha
Mahaffey, Lanay
Mallavarapu, Suma
Marek, Pam
Marsil, Dorothy
Martin, Nicole
Martin, Tim
McCarthy, Maureen
McNamara, Corinne
Neal, Teresa
Neiner, Andrew
Niederjohn, Daniel
Pearcey, Sharon
Pusateri, Thomas
Rainey, Quaneecia
Randall, Christopher
Rauton, Julia
Rifkin, Sheldon
Rogers, Daniel
Scheier, Sandra
Schwartz, David
Scott, Gail
Simmons, Rebecca
Sligh, Allison
Stewart, Tracie
Story, Paul
Taglialatela, Lauren
Willard, Jennifer
Williams, Stacey
Williamson, Adrienne
Wolfe, Amanda
Zhan, Ginny
Ziegler, Christine